CofC Logo

About the Office

The responsibility of the Office of the Provost and Academic Affairs is to provide academic vision and leadership. The responsibilities are as broad and diverse as the College of Charleston itself. With the deans, department chairs, program heads, faculty, and administrative offices, Interim Provost Fran Welch and her staff work with other areas of campus and the President’s office to advance the quality and mission of the College, including implementing the Strategic Plan.

On a daily basis, the Office of Academic Affairs oversees such vital issues as faculty and staff personnel concerns including recruitment, hiring, promotion and tenure; budget requests and needs; academic programming initiatives; and faculty concerns. The Interim Provost works closely with the deans of the six schools, and the Deans of the Libraries, the School of Professional Studies, the Honors College, and the Graduate Program. In addition, numerous other functions, including North Campus, Enrollment Services, Registrar, Academic Student Services, International Programs, and Undergraduate Research report to the Academic Affairs Division. Under our shared governance model, the Provost also works collaboratively with the Speaker of the Faculty and the Faculty Senate, the primary legislative body of the faculty.

In summary, the Office of the Provost and Academic Affairs provides leadership for and supports the efforts of the faculty and staff who work to ensure that the mission of academic excellence is achieved.

Academic Leadership

Interim Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs
Frances C. Welch, Ph.D.
email: welchf@cofc.edu  

Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs
Deanna Caveny, Ph.D.
email: cavenyd@cofc.edu

Associate Provost for Curriculum and Institutional Resources
Lynn Cherry, Ph.D.
email: cherryl@cofc.edu 


Associate Provost for International Education and Director of the Center for International Education
Andrew M. Sobiesuo, Ph.D.
email: sobiesuoa@cofc.edu


Associate Vice President for the Academic Experience
Lynne E. Ford, Ph.D.
email: fordl@cofc.edu 

Deans & Academic Personnel

Go to the Academic Personnel page for a current listing of our deans, chairs, directors, and faculty.

Office of the Provost Staff

Project Manager
Anastasia E. Gilpatrick
email: abemelia@cofc.edu

Admin. Assistant and Event Coordinator
Faculty Secretariat for the Faculty Senate
Megan Gould
email: gouldme1@cofc.edu

Assistant to the Provost for Budget and Personnel
Beth Murphy
email: murphyb@cofc.edu

Office Manager 
Cathy Peebles
email: peeblesc@cofc.edu

Executive Assistant to the Provost
Michelle McGrew
email: mmcgrew@cofc.edu 

Office Assistant
Zainab Hussain
email: hussainzz@cofc.edu