CofC Logo

Distinguished Adjunct Faculty Teaching Award

The College of Charleston Distinguished Adjunct Faculty Teaching Award  is made to one individual during the spring semester. The Distinguished Adjunct Faculty Teaching Award honors those adjunct faculty members who have been designated by faculty colleagues as typifying high standards and a commitment to teaching excellence throughout their careers.  The recipient is recommended by an ad hoc committee appointed by the Provost and consisting of five recent recipients of either the Distinguished Teaching Award or the Distinguished Adjunct Faculty Teaching Award, including at least one adjunct faculty member, and the Student Government Association President. 

  • Established: 2014
  • Number of recipients annually: one
  • Committee: members to be appointed by the Provost, including the SGA President (or his/her designee)
  • Committee Chair: Dr. Merissa Ferrara
  • Award: $1500 & a framed certificate


The Distinguished Adjunct Faculty Teaching Award honors those adjunct faculty members who are outstanding among the College of Charleston’s excellent teachers.   Letters should describe how the individual is outstanding among other excellent teachers and provide specific examples and documentation whenever possible. The committee will request additional materials directly from the nominee.

All letters of nomination must also include: 

  • the name, title and department of the person being proposed for the award; 
  • the name, address and phone number of the nominator; and
  • the name of the award.  

Email nominations to:  Dr. Merrisa Ferrara,, and cc: Megan Gould,

Deadline: The deadline for this award has passed. Please check back in February 2019 for the next round of nominations.

Award Recipients

2014 - Reba Joy Parker - Sociology and Anthropology
2015 - Miranda L. McManus -  Biology
2016 - Lauren Michelle Humphreys - Geology
2017 - Thomas R. Martin - Communication
2018 - Laurie A. Lattimore-Volkmann - Communication