Distinguished Advising Award

The College of Charleston Distinguished Advising Award is presented to a roster faculty member during the spring semester. The Distinguished Advising Award honors those roster faculty members who have demonstrated a sustained dedication to students in the area of academic advising. A recommendation is made to the Provost by an ad hoc committee appointed by the Provost and comprised of five former recipients and the Director of the Academic Advising and Planning Center. The award is a framed certificate and a cash award. 

  • Established:  1994
  • Number of recipients annually:  one
  • Award:  $1500 and a framed certificate


The Distinguished Advising Award will be given to a roster faculty member who has demonstrated a dedication to students in the advising area. Nominators must be a faculty member(s) and letters of nomination should include a description of the nominee’s advising service and the reasons why they should be selected. Nominations should be seconded by at least one additional faculty member, who may co-author the primary nomination letter or write a separate letter of support. Letters of support should be collected and submitted with the original nomination; up to three letters of support may be submitted. Any roster faculty member may be nominated, and selections will be made by a committee comprised of former recipients and the Director of the Academic Advising and Planning Center. The committee will seek additional materials from the nominees, including a narrative (up to 1500 words), addressing their advising approach and contributions, a current CV, and up to three samples of advising materials or publications developed by the nominee. The College’s recipient of the faculty Distinguished Advising Award will be nominated the following spring, if appropriate, for regional or national recognition through the National Academic Advising Association (NACADA) Outstanding Advising Award in NACADA’s faculty advising category.

All letters of nomination must also include: 

  • the name, title and department of the person being proposed for the award; 
  • the name, address and phone number of the nominator; and
  • the name of the award.  

Deadline: Spring 2022

Questions about the award or criteria? Contact the Deanna Caveny (cavenyd@cofc.edu) or the Committee Chair. Technical difficulties with the nomination form? Email faculty-awards-group@cofc.edu.

Award Recipients

Frances Courson - Education
Caroline C. Hunt - English
Malcolm C. Clark - History
Lynn L. Cherry - Communication
Trisha Folds-Bennett - Psychology
Deborah A. Miller - Phys Ed and Health
Linda M. Plunkett - Accounting
Rose Hamm Rowland - Math/Honors Program
Martha W. Runey - Biology
Rebecca B. Herring - Accounting
Christine A. Hope - Sociology and Anthropology
Susan J. Morrison - Biology
Elizabeth M. Martin - Chemistry
Penelope J. McKeever - School of Business & Economics
Marion T. Doig - Chemistry and Biochem
Marsha E. Hass - Accounting and Legal Studies
David S. Mann- Political Science
William V. Moore - Political Science
Dinesh G. Sarvate - Math
David W. Maves - Music
Willette S. Burnham - Intercultural Programs
Larry A. Carlson - English
James P. Deavor - Chemistry
Deanna M. Caveny - Math
Norris W. Preyer, Jr. - Physics and Astronomy
Charles K. Biernbaum - Biology
Ann S. Stein - Sociology and Anthropology
Joyce Kille-Marino - Biology
Michael Marcell - Psychology
Gary Asleson - Chemistry
Agnes Ayme-Southgate - Biology
Thomas Kunkle - Mathematics
Carol Ann Davis - English
Brenda Sanders - Sociology and Anthropology
Diane Cudahy - Teacher Education
Elizabeth Jurisich - Mathematics
Duncan Munro - Biology
Gorka Sancho - Biology
Catherine Thomas
- English
Julia L. Eichelberger - English
Bernard E. Powers, Jr. - History
Scott Peeples - English
Jeffrey L. Wragg - Physics and Astronomy
Genevieve H. Hay - Teacher Education
Dee Dee Joyce - Sociology and Anthropology
John C. Creed - Political Science
Susan Balinsky - Public Health
Erin K. Beutel - Geology and Environmental Geosciences
Jesslyn R. Collins-Frohlich - English
Robert G. Westerfelhaus - Communication


William M. Russell - English


Jacob Craig - English